Thursday, 18 August 2016

If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan


If You Could Be Mine





Title: If You Could Be Mine
Author: Sara Farizan
Series: Stand Alone
Source: Netgalley and a second hand shop
Format: eBook and Hardback, I read the hardback version
Publisher: Alqonquin Young Readers
Publication date: August 20th 2013 (happy 3rd birthday)
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.74*s
My Rating: 5*s
Description: In this stunning debut, a young Iranian American writer pulls back the curtain on one of the most hidden corners of a much-talked-about culture.

Seventeen-year-old Sahar has been in love with her best friend, Nasrin, since they were six. They’ve shared stolen kisses and romantic promises. But Iran is a dangerous place for two girls in love—Sahar and Nasrin could be beaten, imprisoned, even executed if their relationship came to light.

So they carry on in secret—until Nasrin’s parents announce that they’ve arranged for her marriage. Nasrin tries to persuade Sahar that they can go on as they have been, only now with new comforts provided by the decent, well-to-do doctor Nasrin will marry. But Sahar dreams of loving Nasrin exclusively—and openly.

Then Sahar discovers what seems like the perfect solution. In Iran, homosexuality may be a crime, but to be a man trapped in a woman’s body is seen as nature’s mistake, and sex reassignment is legal and accessible. As a man, Sahar could be the one to marry Nasrin. Sahar will never be able to love the one she wants, in the body she wants to be loved in, without risking her life. Is saving her love worth sacrificing her true self?

Review: This book in one word for me is; heartbreaking. As a WLW who suffers discrimination as it is the place I live where being a lesbian is legal I can scarcely imagine my love being illegal. It doesn't seem possible. It definitely isn't right. At all.
Nasrin is a spoiled brat. In the end, and even a little bit through the book Sahar does see this. There are definitely some things I don't like when it comes to what the characters do. But...the reason I love this book so much is that I understand their desperation. I understand why they would do these things. For life, or for love.
It is honestly hard to put into words the reasons why I love this book. Although at times it was hard to continue reading because of the pain. Even though it made me cry more than it made me laugh. I love this book and I would recommend it to all of you, wlw or not.

Tuesday, 19 January 2016

Review: Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead (Georgina Kincaid, #1)

This Book is intended for Adults only. 

Title: Succubus Blues
Author: Richelle Mead
Series: Georgina Kincaid, Book 1
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: Feb 27th 2007
Source: Christmas Present
Format: Paperback (Mass Market version)
Description: When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny. . .

My Rating:  5*s
My Review: I am a sucker (pun not intended) for paranormal/urban fantasy. While it is a category I only discovered in recent year I just can't seem to get enough of it. I love almost every PNF/UF book I have read so far, and this one had an extra thing to make me love it. Richelle Mead.
I have devoured both the Vampire Academy and Bloodline series and I just needed more. I didn't regret it.

Georgina Kincaid is a pretty down to earth character, considering she's a succubus and all. She leads a fairly normal life, she works, she reads, she dances. There isn't much about her that screams creature of seduction. Except for when she shape shifts, which, yeah, I'm totally jealous of. I like how at times she seems to struggle with her immortality, at least that's how it felt to me. She's very cautious about things because of that I think. Georgina is a good character, and I love her friends too.

The writing style was very easy to get along with and if I didn't spend so much time online I would have read this book in one sitting. It's also not a book too heavily steeped in emotional stuff (which is something I needed in a book this week.)

I will say that I had no trouble figuring out who the bad "guy" was going to be. I worked it out a fair few chapter before Georgina did, but I didn't mind that. Plus, I still questioned it.

Overall a good and easy read, quick without distraction. Something I would recommend, but not gush about. I would recommend Richelle's other books first, but still one to be added to my 5 star shelf.

(As a side note this book can be found pretty cheap online secondhand too. I picked up the second book in the series from AbeBooks for £2.80...)

Wednesday, 6 January 2016

Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray

A/N: Sorry I've been so MIA. The last few months of the year are always busy for me and last year...I went through a MAJOR reading slump, but I'm (hopefully) back and (hopefully) better than ever!

Title: The Diviners
Author; Libba Bray
Series: The Diviners (#1) (Currently an incomplete series)
Source: Christmas Present
Format: Hardback
Description: Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

My Rating: 5*s
My Review: In my opinion Libba Bray is a great world builder. I was there, in the 1920's with Evie and Memphis, and Theta. When they were scared, I was scared. When they laughed, I laughed.

I was introduced to the works of Libba Bray through random booktube hopping. Everybody was raving for Beauty Queens, so I took the dive, and I too fell in love. I knew from then I had to see what else she could offer me, and thus far she has not disappointed.

The Diviners shows me a different side of Libba Bray, one with monsters and several intricate lives woven into one story. With plotlines that keep you guessing and wanting more. I can't wait to get the next book in the series, I have so many unanswered question. And (kind of a spoiler here, but nothing to do with the storyline itself) it didn't even end in a cliffhanger, which is what usually keeps me coming back to a series.

If I was disappointed with anything...it would have the be the ending... It felt so anticlimactic. I mean, I know there are more books in the series, but the ending was just a little dull for me. It could have probably done without the last chapter, but then that's just my opinion.

This one is a definite recommendation.

Wednesday, 7 October 2015

New Laptop...Finally

So, I was away for a very long time...AGAIN! I am so sorry, but this time my reason is more legit than reader's block. I didn't have a frigging laptop!!! Mine decided to completely delete all software from itself... I was just using a phone for a while but well, it wasn't enough so...I got myself a new laptop. Could've fixed the old one, but I didn't like that one much anyway...

So hopefully I can start posting more reviews again! Hip Hip Hooray! :)

Saturday, 7 March 2015

All Fall Down by Ally Carter


Title: All Fall Down
Author :Ally Carter
Series: Embassy Row, book 1
Publication date: Jan 20th 2015, by scholastic
 Source: Netgalley, I exchange for an homeest review
Format: kindle
My rating: 5*s


My Review:  So far, I have read every single one of Ally Carter's books. I have not been disappointed by a single one, they have each kept my attention and I loved each one. She writes great charters, she has great story lines, she writes well. It is safe to say she is one of my favourite authors.

Grace, poor, poor Grace. You know those characters that you just want to wrap in a trauma blanket and cuddle for about a year? That's Grace. Sure, she's strong, she's adventurous, but she is also frail in a way.

I loved all of the characters, I loved the story line and I loved every twist. Most of which were unexpected. 10\10 would recommend. And would totally read again.

If you haven't picked up an Ally Carter book yet, what are you waiting for?

Can't wait for the next book.

Tuesday, 27 January 2015

One of the Guys by Lisa Aldin

Title; One of the Guys
Author; Lisa Aldin
Source; Netgalley
Publisher; Spencer Hill Press
Publication Date; Feb 10th 2015
Rating; 5*s
Description; Tomboy to the core, Toni Valentine understands guys. She'll take horror movies, monster hunts and burping contests over manicures. So Toni is horrified when she's sent to the Winston Academy for Girls, where she has to wear a skirt and learn to be alady while the guys move on without her.

Then Toni meets Emma Elizabeth, a girl at school with boy troubles, and she volunteers one of her friends as a pretend date. Word spreads of Toni’s connections with boys, and she discovers that her new wealthy female classmates will pay big money for fake dates. Looking for a way to connect her old best friends with her new life at school, Toni and Emma start up Toni Valentine’s Rent-A-Gent Service. 

But the business meets a scandal when Toni falls for one of her friends--the same guy who happens to be the most sought-after date. With everything she's built on the line, Toni has to decide if she wants to save the business and her old life, or let go of being one of the guys for a chance at love.


Review; What a perfect ending.

Toni Valentine was a perfect character for me. Flawed and uncertain of herself, real.  A tomboy that discovers it is okay to have more than one side of yourself.
I liked every one of Toni's friends , and though I knew the love interest quickly I was happy about because that character was another of my favourites.

The girls within the book were not bitchy. There were no competitions or fighting over boys as there so often is in books of this type. I am so so so glad about that.

Every boy in the book had different personalities and they weren't just 'typical' guys. It made everything more realistic. Gosh I could rave about this book for hours. This book definitely deserves recommendation. This is Lisa Aldin's first title, I can't wait to see what she comes up with next.

Sunday, 25 January 2015

dr.a.g by Christopher Logan

Title; Dr.a.g.
Author; Christopher Logan
Source; Netgalley
Publisher; bookthefilm edition
Publication Date; 12th May 2012
Rating; 5*s
Description;Drag has become a diverse form of expression that challenges, entertains, and educates by pushing boundaries, while embracing beauty, comedy and glamour. The performers in this book are evidence of that diversity, captured by some of the top photographers working in today's world.

Review; I love the confidence that men in drag have, they are unafraid to shw who they are, unafraid to show their beautiful selves. I admire that. I really do. In many pictures this book shows that confidence.
This book is also very diverse. Men and women of all colours and cultures are appreciated here and I feel that is very important.
This book is mostly pictures, but I'd still recommend it. Seriously a beautiful book.