Friday, 21 October 2016

We Awaken by Calista Lynne

Title; We Awaken
Author; Calista Lynne
Publisher; Harmony Ink Press
Publication Date; 14th July 2016
Source; Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review
My Rating; 2*s
Description;  Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an otherworldly girl named Ashlinn, who bears a message from Victoria’s comatose brother. Ashlinn is tasked with conjuring pleasant dreams for humans, and through the course of their nightly meetings in Victoria’s mind, the two become close. Ashlinn also helps Victoria understand asexuality and realize that she, too, is asexual.

But then Victoria needs Ashlinn’s aid outside the realm of dreams, and Ashlinn assumes human form to help Victoria make it to her dance audition. They take the opportunity to explore New York City, their feelings for each other, and the nature of their shared asexuality. But like any dream, it’s too good to last. Ashlinn must shrug off her human guise and resume her duties creating pleasant nighttime visions—or all of humanity will pay the price.

My Review: My thoughts about this book mostly centre around the word "meh." I feel like it was kind of...boring. It may have only been 180 pages but I struggled a little to get through it

There were also things I did not agree with at all, especially with Reeves, it was too easy, too simple. This book wasn't for me but I would give Calista's other books a try.

The characters did have much going for them... Ellie could have been way more understanding and I just...feel like the book fell short. It has a great premise, I was hoping for a wonderfully magic story...but it wasn't what I got this time..

It was also just so fast, so so fast. Days and you're in love? No. Not at all.

Monday, 10 October 2016

Clancy of the Undertow by Christopher Currie

Title; Clancy of the Undertow
Author; Christopher Currie
Series; Stand Alone
Source/Format; eBook, from the publisher, through Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.
Publisher; Text Publishing
Publication Date; November 16th 2015
Goodreads Average Rating; 3.92*s
My Rating; 3*s
Description; We’re sitting there with matching milkshakes, Sasha and me, and somehow, things aren’t going like I always thought they would. We’re face to face under 24-hour fluorescents with the thoroughly unromantic buzz of aircon in our ears and endless flabby wedges of seated trucker’s arsecrack as our only visual stimulus.

In a dead-end town like Barwen a girl has only got to be a little different to feel like a freak. And Clancy, a typical sixteen-year-old misfit with a moderately dysfunctional family, a genuine interest in Nature Club and a major crush on the local hot girl, is packing a capital F.

As the summer begins, Clancy’s dad is involved in a road smash that kills two local teenagers. While the family is dealing with the reaction of a hostile town, Clancy meets someone who could possibly—at last—become a friend. Not only that, the unattainable Sasha starts to show what may be a romantic interest.

In short, this is the summer when Clancy has to figure out who the hell she is.

Review: I have no idea what to say about this book. I didn't love it. I didn't hate it. The word meh kind of encompasses my feelings about the entire book...

It was rather...predictable at times. You average lesbian novel written by a seemingly straight white man. With words such as queer used as a slur. Not so happy about that... Also, don't really expect a happy ending, or any kind of ending really. I feel like it was just a bunch of different plot lines leading to an open non ending...

Like I said it wasn't a bad book, it just felt a little...predictable at times for me. And nothing really felt resolved for me. It definitely kept my attention, it's the first time I've read a single book in just over a day in little while, but I'm just entirely unsure whether I would personally recommend it. There has been a lot of love for it over on goodreads, maybe it's just me, but I feel like it's a book you need to form your own opinion on.

All of the characters were flawed, but Clancy feels sort of like an unreliable protagonist because she at times can be a little dramatic... I didn't hate her character though.

It is set in Australia which I did enjoy...

Sunday, 9 October 2016

Review: The Color of Love by Radclyffe

Title: The Color of Love
Author: Radclyffe
Series: Stand alone
Source: Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.
Publisher: Bold Stroke Books
Publication Date: July 12th 2016
My Rating: 4.75*s
Description: Literary agent Emily May is in danger of losing everything she’s worked for—her job, her home, her friends, and the security she provides her older sister back in Singapore—all because she doesn’t have a green card. Racecar enthusiast, high-flying, fast-living Derian Winfield is called home when the only family member she still cares about falls ill. Forced into assuming a role in her father’s dynasty she’s spent years avoiding, Derian needs to rehabilitate her black sheep reputation in a hurry or the agency will likely end up being lost in a takeover. Together, she and Emily take on Derian’s father and his hatchet woman, and in the process, Derian comes up with a plan to solve both their problems. Now she only needs to convince Emily to marry her, a perfectly reasonable solution to all their troubles, or so she thinks. She just hadn’t counted on falling in love.

Review: This is the first ever book I have read written by Radclyffe...which I find surprising considering how much femslash fiction I have been reading over the past few months. Radclyffe's name appears a lot in the lesbian fiction categories on both amazon and goodreads so when the opportunity to review one of her books arose I couldn't wait to dive in.

Granted, this review is a few months late as I did have an advanced copy.

This book felt like a quick read and it was always very easy to fall back into the next day after putting down the night before, even though I didn't really want to put it down.
I loved the characters and that although at first the story, and their romance, seemed a little fast the characters themselves were slightly self aware of this and kind of fought it. It wasn't all rainbow and sunshine and lollipops. It made the story have more depth.

Emily and Dere were sweet together and I like that they came together because of someone else they both love. It is easy to form quick bonds in the face of an almost tragedy.
The supporting characters were great. I love Ron and HW and I even found myself liking Aud, who I wasn't too sure of at first. I also found it great that the problems and the tasks they had to overcome were more based in life than within the actual relationships.
I would have liked Derian to meet Pam though...just a little bit.

If you are looking for a sweet, kind of fast, romance with great characters I would recommend this book, and I absolutely cannot wait to try more of Radclyffe's books. If her other books are anything like this one I can see her quickly climbing up my favourite author's list.

Thursday, 18 August 2016

If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan

If You Could Be Mine

Title: If You Could Be Mine
Author: Sara Farizan
Series: Stand Alone
Source: Netgalley and a second hand shop
Format: eBook and Hardback, I read the hardback version
Publisher: Alqonquin Young Readers
Publication date: August 20th 2013 (happy 3rd birthday)
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.74*s
My Rating: 5*s
Description: In this stunning debut, a young Iranian American writer pulls back the curtain on one of the most hidden corners of a much-talked-about culture.

Seventeen-year-old Sahar has been in love with her best friend, Nasrin, since they were six. They’ve shared stolen kisses and romantic promises. But Iran is a dangerous place for two girls in love—Sahar and Nasrin could be beaten, imprisoned, even executed if their relationship came to light.

So they carry on in secret—until Nasrin’s parents announce that they’ve arranged for her marriage. Nasrin tries to persuade Sahar that they can go on as they have been, only now with new comforts provided by the decent, well-to-do doctor Nasrin will marry. But Sahar dreams of loving Nasrin exclusively—and openly.

Then Sahar discovers what seems like the perfect solution. In Iran, homosexuality may be a crime, but to be a man trapped in a woman’s body is seen as nature’s mistake, and sex reassignment is legal and accessible. As a man, Sahar could be the one to marry Nasrin. Sahar will never be able to love the one she wants, in the body she wants to be loved in, without risking her life. Is saving her love worth sacrificing her true self?

Review: This book in one word for me is; heartbreaking. As a WLW who suffers discrimination as it is the place I live where being a lesbian is legal I can scarcely imagine my love being illegal. It doesn't seem possible. It definitely isn't right. At all.
Nasrin is a spoiled brat. In the end, and even a little bit through the book Sahar does see this. There are definitely some things I don't like when it comes to what the characters do. But...the reason I love this book so much is that I understand their desperation. I understand why they would do these things. For life, or for love.
It is honestly hard to put into words the reasons why I love this book. Although at times it was hard to continue reading because of the pain. Even though it made me cry more than it made me laugh. I love this book and I would recommend it to all of you, wlw or not.

Tuesday, 19 January 2016

Review: Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead (Georgina Kincaid, #1)

This Book is intended for Adults only. 

Title: Succubus Blues
Author: Richelle Mead
Series: Georgina Kincaid, Book 1
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: Feb 27th 2007
Source: Christmas Present
Format: Paperback (Mass Market version)
Description: When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny. . .

My Rating:  5*s
My Review: I am a sucker (pun not intended) for paranormal/urban fantasy. While it is a category I only discovered in recent year I just can't seem to get enough of it. I love almost every PNF/UF book I have read so far, and this one had an extra thing to make me love it. Richelle Mead.
I have devoured both the Vampire Academy and Bloodline series and I just needed more. I didn't regret it.

Georgina Kincaid is a pretty down to earth character, considering she's a succubus and all. She leads a fairly normal life, she works, she reads, she dances. There isn't much about her that screams creature of seduction. Except for when she shape shifts, which, yeah, I'm totally jealous of. I like how at times she seems to struggle with her immortality, at least that's how it felt to me. She's very cautious about things because of that I think. Georgina is a good character, and I love her friends too.

The writing style was very easy to get along with and if I didn't spend so much time online I would have read this book in one sitting. It's also not a book too heavily steeped in emotional stuff (which is something I needed in a book this week.)

I will say that I had no trouble figuring out who the bad "guy" was going to be. I worked it out a fair few chapter before Georgina did, but I didn't mind that. Plus, I still questioned it.

Overall a good and easy read, quick without distraction. Something I would recommend, but not gush about. I would recommend Richelle's other books first, but still one to be added to my 5 star shelf.

(As a side note this book can be found pretty cheap online secondhand too. I picked up the second book in the series from AbeBooks for £2.80...)

Wednesday, 6 January 2016

Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray

A/N: Sorry I've been so MIA. The last few months of the year are always busy for me and last year...I went through a MAJOR reading slump, but I'm (hopefully) back and (hopefully) better than ever!

Title: The Diviners
Author; Libba Bray
Series: The Diviners (#1) (Currently an incomplete series)
Source: Christmas Present
Format: Hardback
Description: Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

My Rating: 5*s
My Review: In my opinion Libba Bray is a great world builder. I was there, in the 1920's with Evie and Memphis, and Theta. When they were scared, I was scared. When they laughed, I laughed.

I was introduced to the works of Libba Bray through random booktube hopping. Everybody was raving for Beauty Queens, so I took the dive, and I too fell in love. I knew from then I had to see what else she could offer me, and thus far she has not disappointed.

The Diviners shows me a different side of Libba Bray, one with monsters and several intricate lives woven into one story. With plotlines that keep you guessing and wanting more. I can't wait to get the next book in the series, I have so many unanswered question. And (kind of a spoiler here, but nothing to do with the storyline itself) it didn't even end in a cliffhanger, which is what usually keeps me coming back to a series.

If I was disappointed with would have the be the ending... It felt so anticlimactic. I mean, I know there are more books in the series, but the ending was just a little dull for me. It could have probably done without the last chapter, but then that's just my opinion.

This one is a definite recommendation.

Wednesday, 7 October 2015

New Laptop...Finally

So, I was away for a very long time...AGAIN! I am so sorry, but this time my reason is more legit than reader's block. I didn't have a frigging laptop!!! Mine decided to completely delete all software from itself... I was just using a phone for a while but well, it wasn't enough so...I got myself a new laptop. Could've fixed the old one, but I didn't like that one much anyway...

So hopefully I can start posting more reviews again! Hip Hip Hooray! :)